Clyde River Reports

Share info and fishing reports from waters other than Lake Champlain.
Mr.Spoon
Species: Salmon/Trout/Bass

Clyde River Reports

Post by Mr.Spoon »

Ok so I figured id do a report thingy on the Clyde for the fall run, since thats where I am gonna be fishing mostly this fall, and its one of my favorite rivers in VT. Disclaimer, I am not an expert, I have been fishing the clyde for two seasons, and have a handful of salmon under my belt, while there are guys on this river that have been fishing it for 50+ years and know every rock in the river.

So, I decided to take my first official trip up to the Clyde on the 18th, and boy, I was not disappointed. I went 1-5 on salmon. I don't even care that I lost four fish in a row, there full of raw power this time of year and will give you a battle and a half. The nights had been in the low 50s and high 40s and with a little rain, im not surprised a good sized school of fish hit the river that morning. I literally watched a dozen fresh fish swim into the pool I was fishing. I counted 22 total fish in that pool, and wow were they aggressive. They especially hated the color gold. I landed my first fish on a tiny soft hackle with a beadhead, however after that, the other fish I hooked all came on a larger golden stone nymph. Odd that they wanted something large and bright, but ok, salmon are weird. At one point I was fishing over so many fish I had to just stop and watch since I was afraid of accidently butt hooking one(had to break one off earlier since it was hooked in the tail, stuff happens :/). The final fish I hooked was a giant. I felt the soft take, lifted the rod, and a very large salmon jumped upstream into the rapids and then ran down the pool into the brush, and there was no stopping him. Pure power! All and all I went 1-5, landing this beautiful buck early in the day.

I didnt fish the 19th, but got told the water dropped and a lot of fish either left or something.