Fall and Beyond fishing

Share info on fishing Champlain.
Mike8484
Species: Trout

Fall and Beyond fishing

Post by Mike8484 »

Hi all! So this is my first year owning a boat (1999 Lund Adventure Pro 17ft) and am not sure what to expect out of fall fishing on Champlain and even the possibility of frostbite fishing (although I probably won't my first year). Just curious what sort of things I'll have to do to keep fishing late in to fall that I won't usually have to worry about during the summer. No real target species in mind. If it has fins and tugs on my fishing line I am in. I don't have any zippered canvas enclosures or anything like that. I don't have any downriggers currently but am keeping my eyes peeled for a good deal. Any suggestions on that are appreciated. Any tips in general are greatly appreciated.
Detritus
Species: Anything we can catch

Re: Fall and Beyond fishing

Post by Detritus »

There's a lot you could do, but, what you need to do is surprisingly little. I would recommend not ruling frostbiting out just yet. It's not as extreme a sport as you might think.

Everybody always says it, and it's true. Safety first. Our model is basically:

1. Avoid going out on the water in double digit winds. The colder the temperatures, the less wind you want when you're out there.
2. Go out at the same time and area as other guys from this forum. Not hard, really, if you look at last winter's reports, there were LCU guys out
there every weekend just about. Last Year, the Country Angler was trolling in all 12 months.
3. Float Plan with someone at home. Check in an out with the other guys on the water on 68 when you arrive and depart the fishing area.
4. Avoid Solo fishing if you can.