Salmon Trolling Fly Pattern

Lure modification. From taping and painting to manufacturing your own fishing lures.
Black Ghost (Ken)
Species: Salmon et al

Salmon Trolling Fly Pattern

Post by Black Ghost (Ken) »

I have been tying for less than a year now, which is actually longer than I've been a salmon fisherman. Obviously I am a long ways from being an expert of either skill. But I'm successful enough at both that I can catch salmon on my own flies and my own fly patterns. Of course, the patterns are just variations of gray ghost which might be on of the most tried and true salmon streamer ever - but what do I know, I'm just an amateur.

The traditional gray ghost streamer consists of hackle feathers, peacock hearls, and bucktail with a silver pheasant for a gill, and imitation jungle cock for eyes. I usually substitute flashabou for one of the longer pieces. I frequently leave out the silver pheasant. In general, I try to keep the appearance streamline without any bulk - both flies in the photo are a little bulkier than I like. I always use the jungle cock eyes.

Black Ghost (Ken)
Black Ghost (Ken)

Re: Salmon Trolling Fly Pattern

And I forgot the hook size:

I use a Mustad 94720 #6.

I used to do the tandem hooks but its a pain to build out, uses twice the hooks (not cheap), and I don't think they look that good (at least when I make them).

Ken
Black Ghost (Ken)
Surprise
Species: FROSTBITING

Post by Surprise »

Thanks for the post Ken, If you could edit and list a list of materials I know everyone then could have a recipe to duplicate your success!

Look at some of my recipe posts including the head item giving how may turns of thread etc.

Sparse flies have worked best in Champlain forever which you have been very quick to note!

Great job now name them and catalog them so someone can say Hey Ken, tie me up some Mad Dog's !

Keep going and fishing..