My wife's niece's second buck in two years (Michigan)

Share Hunting info.
digitroll (ron)

My wife's niece's second buck in two years (Michigan)

Post by digitroll (ron) »

Story copy and pasted from email:

I shot this little guy last Friday on the second day of the season. At 11AM I looked up and to my right (I was hunting in the bear blind) at 300 yards stood this HUGE buck- I could see his rack with my naked eye but he was gone before I could get the scope on him. At 11:10 on the center line a small buck walks out (I guessed he was a small 6pt but he was moving past - yummy consolation prize). He was 160 yards so I got the gun over and lined up my shot. I tried to find him on my own but I'm not good at tracking so after Dad and Uncle Mitchel found his deer (he shot a good size 8 at 8AM) they came and helped me look. We found the hair from the shot but no blood, after about 40min of circling Brandon whistled us over to him, he points out this tiny bit of blood that I really don't think was blood and he said "I'd ask your opinion but I found him already" so---- he was helping look and saw something glinting in the sun and it turned out to be my deer. Although he's a consolation prize, he is in the top ten deer taken from that property since Grandpa bought it 51 years ago, it will be the 3rd largest set of antlers hanging on the wall after I design my mount.