New member South Champlain

Check and share here for the latest fishing reports.
Free Bird
Species: Salmon

New member South Champlain

Post by Free Bird »

A friend suggested I come on this website and share this beautiful salmon we caught this weekend. I recently moved to our camp in Addison, bought a boat and took back to fishing after a spell of about 8 years without a boat. I was talking to some friends at a party the previous evening who said they've struggled to catch a salmon so I offered them to come out with me in the morning. I was just setting the last rod which was 5 colors of leadcore and was adjusting the drag when it started zinging out line. I knew it was a good fish and got the line tight and started fighting it toward the boat. I handed the rod off to one of my friends. It was acting like a laker except for staying up top (I'm new to leadcore and haven't caught a salmon this size on Champlain before). About 20' behind the boat it jumped and I just about sh.. myself. Thank goodness my friends had no idea this wasn't just a normal salmon so they stayed cool and calm while I was scrambling for the net and barking orders :) It was 28" and weighed just under 10 on one scale and just over 9 on another - guess I'll call it 9.5. The catch was steady and went 7 for 9 with most 18-21 inches. One on lead, several on the riggers and one on the lite bite (I'm new at those too so any real charts for depth vs speed would be appreciated - are the ones on the website accurate?) Fish hit in 25'-50' down mostly in temperature and blue/silver, copper/orange seemed to be the ticket whether over vertical flashers or solo.

fishing_7-9-17_1.jpg
fishing_7-9-17_1.jpg (17.23 KiB) Viewed 2695 times
bigfish
Species: salmon

Re: New member South Champlain

Post by bigfish »

Great report. Nice salmon !!
hard knox
Species: salmon

Post by hard knox »

thats a nice male salmon great fish and great start to getting back in to the game .Well done !
Greenhorn