Frostbite Converse report 11/5

Check and share here for the latest fishing reports.
keithm87
Species: Trout and Salmon

Frostbite Converse report 11/5

Post by keithm87 »

This is my first year fishing this late into the year from the boat, and yesterday the lessons began.

Woke up at 5:15 and called Vin to verify meet up time, headed to the boat hooked up, and then remembered that I needed to raise the motor as I lowered it to let it drain. My boat is stored outside and I woke up to 26 degrees. I had shut the battery off to ensure it would be good to go, and when I went to open the battery bay, I found it was frozen solid shut. For the next 15 minutes I tried everything I had on hand to get it open to no avail. I finally came up with the idea to try to melt the ice, problem being the boat is stored at a place with no water and the boat was already hooked up to the truck. I went through the truck looking for some means to thaw it, and found a bottle of whiskey (makers mark) and tragically used it and a pocket knife to get the bay open. After 30 minutes in the cold I finally got it open and raised the motor.