walleye how, where and when?

Share info on fishing Champlain.
_vn_
Species: pike, lakers, bass

walleye how, where and when?

Post by _vn_ »

hi, can someone share techniques on how to fish for walleye?
are there spots or areas north of Burlington, preferably around ile lamotte?

thanks!
ThreeBuoys
Species: Bass,Salmon,Trout

Re: walleye how, where and when?

Post by ThreeBuoys »

Most Walleye Fisherman are very tight lipped and protective of their spots.
I guess it is because of the work they put in to find them.
keithm87
Species: Trout and Salmon

Post by keithm87 »

I have caught them on crank/stick baits trolling. I think that most people use bottom bouncer rigs with green mtn grabbers or the like. They seem to like the rocky areas, but I am by no means an expert at all. I caught a real nice one out by 4 brothers last year at this time, but you could probably find them by driving along some of the shore roads around dusk/dark and look for boats trolling out in the lake. A good resource is the VT master angler site, may not give you the exact spot, but it will tell you the town that the angler caught a fish in.
lingcod
Species: burbot, whitefish

Post by lingcod »

From my experience, and shared info. from walleye anglers, catching walleye consistently is a night time game. The guy I know who scores regularly fishes from a small boat, late at night. Not for everyone and definitely takes getting used to. I am still adjusting.

Some use alewife imitating lures on planer boards and troll paralell to shore, not too far out. But casting a 5-6" rapala-type diver in blue or purple
that dives 3 feet up to 10 feet works well on the big ones, slow retrieve. The walleye can see the big, dark silhouette outlined against the sky. At times they will even hit a surface lure. Being quiet is key, not so easy in darkness! Try to figure out where baitfish congegate and fish there. Tight lines!
_vn_

Post by _vn_ »