Catching Live Bait?

Share info on fishing Champlain.
karl

Catching Live Bait?

Post by karl »

Our rules in NYS specify that (uncertified) live bait be caught from same lake as it will be used in, and if bought from a dealer, will require a receipt specifying source. I want to start trapping, but want to stay legal.

Live bait here may be called minnows, shiners, and about a dozen different other names.

When a bait fish is under 2" long, is it even possible to determine its species? Could it be fry from almost any species, for example? I suspect lots of what are sold as "minnows" are actually alewife fry. We are allowed to catch our own bait, generally with a trap or net as sabiki rigs are prohibited I believe due to exceeding the number of hooks legally able to be put in the water at the same time (NYS).

I'm new to fishing in general, so this may be a pretty naive question, and may only relate to those on Champlain, and may differ from NY to VT sides, too. I have read the DEC publication, which left me even more confused:
http://www.dec.ny.gov/docs/fish_marine_ ... shofny.pdf
fishingmachine
Species: salmon,Lake trout

Re: Catching Live Bait?

Post by fishingmachine »

if you ever figure it out,we would all like to know
dickbaker
Species: Salmon, pike and bass

Post by dickbaker »

Rules in Vt. are even more complicated.
Dick
tree-on
Species: Pike

Post by tree-on »

Sabiki rigs are out unless you cut them down to 2 hooks in Champlain. From the guide: Any person who has a fishing license or is entitled to fish without a license may collect minnows (except carp and goldfish), killifish, mudminnows, darters, sticklebacks, stonecats, smelt, alewives and suckers for personal use in hook and line fishing only (sale prohibited) by angling and with the gear types listed below. All other species must be immediately returned to the water.